× General Discussion

Emergency Medicine and a Family?

More
2 months 2 weeks ago #96743 by haleyyy
Hi so Im 15 years old Im strongly considering a career as an ER doctor but Ive also always wanted to have a family and everyone is telling me that I cant have a family and have my dream job and I was wondering if anyone could tell you if it was possible for me to have both and the best way to do it ? would the hours and the long nights really be a problem? Are those even a major factor? How long does it take to be able to control my own scheduel? Any thong you can tell me helps!!
More
2 months 2 weeks ago #96744 by sahmd
I am not an ER doctor so can't answer all of your questions, but I do know that most ER doctors have families. It is somewhat family-friendly in the sense that it is shift work, but of course many of those shifts are night shifts. Whether the night shifts are a major factor would probably depend on your situation. If you are a single mom with multiple small children and no reliable childcare, then that would be a big problem. If your husband is a very involved parent with a flexible job, or if you have lots of helpful relatives who will do nighttime caregiving, then it might not be a problem at all. I think the total number of shifts per month will also really affect your quality of life.

You are young, so you can arrange things so that you are more likely to be successful at combining a family and your dream job. Marry someone who truly wants you to be successful in medicine and who will take an equal role in parenting your children, or who will even be the primary parent. (Conversely, do not marry a surgeon who *says* that he supports your career but then refuses to do any childcare because it would interfere with his career.) Study hard so that you will have more jobs to choose from. Be frugal so that you can afford to take a job that has better conditions rather than having to take the job with the best pay.

Good luck!