× Thinking of a Becoming a Doctor

Accountant to MD. Should I do it? Just burntout?

More
5 years 9 months ago - 5 years 9 months ago #83216 by t510
Hi,
I would love some feedback. This is really holding me back and it's something that has been on my mind for a long time.

I am a 25year old chartered accountant. I work at a public accounting firm. I work long hours and deal with some really complicated business structures, in specific tax structures (ie M&A). I worked my butt off to get here and financially speaking I have a very promising future (200k+/yr within 5-10 years).

I've always thought about being a doctor but for the last year I have had such a strong urge to just forget about business and go for it. I researched what it would take for me to get in...probably 1 year of sciences + mcat + volunteering, etc. But to be honest, with my work ethic that I've developed I really think I have a strong shot. But anyways, the reason why I have thought about medicine is because I keep thinking to myself is this (business) something I want to do for the rest of my life. I think I would be so much more fulfilling to be a doctor. Also I really do not like the marketing side of business. Being a doctor you can go to work and pardon my language "be an asshole" but as along as you are great at what you do, there should be no problems? Am I correct?

Here is where I need your help. I am really trying to learn about the most I can about being a doctor. I am not going to give up my gig without knowing what it's like everyday. For example, I know my family doctor probably sees 100 patients a day (guessing)... I don't know if I would hate that or love it?
I need to know what the negatives are about the profession. Can you show me any posts that go over this? I know there are tons of doctors that hate it, are depressed, quit, etc. But why? I know dealing with illness and death must get to you? Also do you know how to shadow a Doctor?