advice for a young undergrad

Home Forums General Discussion advice for a young undergrad

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    DONOTDELETE ****DONOTDELETE**
    Participant

Hello,

I am 20 year old undergraduate student in Canada. I am currently in my 3rd year of university (studying Honours English) and will obtain my B.A. in May 2004. I have several relatives and friends who are either in or pursuing medicine. I went into college thinking that I would become a high school English teacher or university English professor, but I’m beginning to change my mind. My relatives and friends have such interesting experiences in practicing medicine. I have begun to take an interest in it as well…very surprisingly.
    The thing is, I know that I dislike basic sciences (including biology) and will not enjoy anatomy or physiology, or any of those courses that you take as prereqs and in the first years of med school. I also know that I will not like anything invasive (no cutting or anything involving sticking instruments inside of people).
    As well, I have volunteered in hospitals and do not really enjoy the setting.
    My uncle is a family doctor and I worked part-time in his office a few years ago, so I got to see what it was like. While I found that patient contact (talking, listening) very rewarding, I was not interested in the medical problems.
    I guess what I am trying to say is this: I like the idea of a family doctor (i.e. the talking/listening, long-term relationship), but if I’m really honest with myself, I don’t like the medical aspect of it. I guess I just am fascinated by the way family doctors get to know their patients so well and can watch them change and grow over time. As well, they get to listen and give advice as to their personal lives and problems.