Am I too old for this????

Home Forums Thinking of a Becoming a Doctor Am I too old for this????

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    DONOTDELETE ****DONOTDELETE**
    Participant

I’m 38 year old single mother of two boys (9 & 11). Am I crazy to be considering going to medical school? My father is a physician and I’ve always had a yearning to become a doctor, but never did pursue it. I’ve always found the field of Radiology fascinating and want to know if it’s possible to go after that dream. How can I go to school, take care of my boys and earn a living at the same time? Any thoughts on this would be very appreciated!

Thanks,
    Sarah

bzmom4bzmom4
    Participant

Hi Sarah!
    First of all, let me tell you. From all I see here and at oldpremeds.org, it is possible!
    I’m also 38, starting my prereqs this year and will be taking my MCAT in August 2004 or April 2005.
    When I first considered being a doctor, I was too embarrassed to say anything to my family because my age (37). But the more they see my determination, the more receptive they are.
    How old will you be when your 9 yr old graduates from high school? I have a 19 month old, 5 yr old, 13 yr old, and a 15 yr old. Looking at it in terms of where will I be at the point of my youngest graduating, I’m more than ready. Lots of people go back to school and change careers in their 40’s and 50’s. We’re still youngsters!
    As far as support, do you have family or friends close by to help with the boys when you need to study or during the 3rd & 4th yr? Depending on how far you need to go before applying, the boys are old enough to help you.