any psych residents looking for a mentor?

Home Forums Introductions & Connections any psych residents looking for a mentor?

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    psychpsych
    Participant

I’d be happy to mentor a med student or resident interested in psychiatry. I’ve been in practice for 2 years. I have a 6 year old and a 1 year old. My husband is an academic neurologist.

psychpsych
    Participant

Okay, that was fast, but it looks like I now have a “mentee.” But please let me know if anyone is interested in psychiatry and wants to talk!

LaramisaLaramisa
    Participant

Hi Psych-

I am interested in Psychiatry and would like to talk or pm. Have you still got time? I would appreciate any advice or insight you have from your experiences.

Briefly, I am studying for the April MCAT and plan to apply to med school next year for entry in 2004.

I already did a PhD in Neuroscience and Cell Biology and since then have worked in laboratory and clinical research (neuroscience – both psychiatric and neurology indications). I have wanted to get my MD for a long time but always thought it was unrealistic – it probably still is but I’ve decided I need to try to find a way to do it anyway.

I also have several years experience volunteering and working with psychiatric patients before I went to gradschool – both in a large state psychiatric hospital that was located in my college’s town and in commmunity mental health rehabilitation programs. Plus some family experience (a brother with Downs Syndrome who lives at a state hospital and many years of experience trying to help/support a relative with schizophrenia)

Sorry – that was not too brief after all and I just barely got started!