Any stay-at-home dads?

Home Forums Family & Parenting Any stay-at-home dads?

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    momofchrismomofchris
    Participant

Any med students/physicians out there have a full-time stay at home hubby? I’m a 2nd year med student with a 6 month old son. My husband will be quitting his out-of-town job next month in order to move here full-time and stay home with the baby. We’ve decided that 1) we’re sick of commuting between 2 cities and 2) we really don’t want to put our son in daycare if we can possibly help it, at least not when he’s this little. We’ve actually planned it this way since before I started med school, but now that the date is rapidly approaching, I’m getting nervous! We’ve saved up enough money over the past year that we should be able to support the baby for at least a year if we live cheaply and take out the max in loans. My husband’s an AWESOME father and already does the bulk of the parenting right now (except for breastfeeding 🙂 ). But I’m concerned about how he’s going to adjust to being at home all day, not getting a paycheck, and -especially- dealing with society’s expectations about traditional male/female roles? I’d love to hear about anyone else’s experiences with this.

mommd2bmommd2b
    Participant

Well, we have a couple of stay-at-home dads and male spouses who are trying to rally some support for the mrmd forum again at medicalspouse.com . I’m sure that they would welcome your hubby with open arms!

Our male members are trying to put together a group for themselves, so if there are any others out there who have husbands/boyfriends who are looking for support…send them our way :p

Kris

EliEli
    Participant

Hi momofchris,