Anyone have an RVU part time contract?

Home Forums Women Physicians Anyone have an RVU part time contract?

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    FPmomof3inSCFPmomof3inSC
    Participant

Hi I am brand new here but I would really appreciate any advice or personal experiences. I graduated from FP residency 3 years ago and signed a contract to work 3 days a week under a productivity formula based on charges. Basically they gave me the same contract as full timers but reduced my production goals by 3/5ths so they were achievable. Now, I am renegotiating my contract and the “new” management (this is a hospital owned practice) has decided that I make too much money (the thanks I get for being much more productive than they thought I’d be) and are offering me a new contract based on RVUs which is equal to a HUGE — 20% pay cut for the same work!! They are telling me that they think a part time doctor shouldn’t get the same RVU rate as full time. This makes no sense to me. Pay me for what I do. I’m already making less because I work less hours. There is another part time doctor in our office and our schedules are opposite so increased overhead in my opinion is not an issue (although I’m sure management will argue differently); also I am full time in the call schedule. I am so angry about this that I don’t plan to resign unless they offer me a better deal. I’m seriously considering trying to start my own practice. Hey if I’m going to take a huge paycut; I may as well have some autonomy and something to show for it in the end…on the other hand I have 3 very small kids ages 4, 2 and almost 1. I don’t want to get in over my head and miss out on time with my kids. Then again, in my own office I can have onsite childcare…Does anyone else out there work part time with an RVU based contract? Are you getting less $ per RVU than the full time doctors? Help, any advice appreciated!!

FPmommyFPmommy
    Participant