Anyone know anything about ER residencies?

Home Forums Medical Students Anyone know anything about ER residencies?

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    double elledouble elle
    Participant

Hi – I am a third year student and a mom of a 1-year-old beautiful little girl. I am thinking of Emergency medicine. However, I don’t know any females who have gone thru this. It really doesn’t help to talk to the male ER docs I work with – they have an entirely different perspective.

Any information would be helpful.
    Thanks

Chris146Chris146
    Participant

Hi double elle. :wave: I’m glad you started this thread. I am an MSII and very interested in emergency medicine and would love to hear from some women who are there. I will be starting a family soon 😮 and am wondering if it is one of the fields that works better with raising a family due to the shifts, etc. I hope there are some ER moms out there to give advice! 🙂

MTaylorMTaylor
    Participant

I am a very happy ER physician, a very happy wife, and a very happy mom (to a 14 month old baby girl)!! It’s the absolute perfect specialty for people who enjoy life outside of the hospital. You don’t have to deal with all the BS other docs endure. Once I leave the hospital (after my SHIFT) there’s no pager…no hospital responsibilies. I make a huge difference in the lives of people in their most distressful times. I help care for people who have no where else to go. I work with children, adults, women…I do procedures, I do ultrasounds, I read x-rays…I do it all. And I love it. I can’t understand why it’s so male dominated. I think as the word gets out, more women will *discover* emergency medicine!!

rockfeverrockfever
    Participant

hi! do you have an Er club at your shcool? ther eis one at the shcool i attend and th einformation at the firts meeting was veyr helpful. the residency director talked and in addition ot the pros that Mya gave, he did give some cons.