Backround checks

Home Forums Thinking of a Becoming a Doctor Backround checks

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    HELLO :0)HELLO :0)
    Participant

I am currently a premed student at the University of Colorado, majoring in literature. I have excellent grades and I expect to do well on the MCAT. I am 22 years old and I have a two year old son. Unfortunately, I joined the Marines at age 17. After completing boot camp I immediately realized the Marine Corps was not for me. I did, however, sign a four-year contract with the Corps. I was young, jaded, and irresponsible when I signed up. I decided to get out the only way I could, which was through an MHU (Mental Health Unit) discharge for depression and failure to adapt. By the time I apply for med school this will be 6 years in the past. I believe that I have solidly demonstrated my abilities by raising a child, working, and volunteering all while maintaining an excellent GPA as a full-time student. Will mistakes from my childhood come back to haunt me? What kind of backround checks will I be subject to and how will my past affect my chances at a career in medicine? Answers would be much appreciated.
    Sincerely,
    Worried Dad in Denver

PremedRNPremedRN
    Participant

I cant really advise you on this issue, but just wanted to say you have my props. Obviously you can adjust well, did you getting out really have to do with having your son? That is a legitimate reason to want to get out of the service, I think. Even if you had to find some reason other than that to get out. Goodluck!

HELLO :0)HELLO :0)
    Participant

Thanks for the support RN! :0)

PremedRNPremedRN
    Participant