breastfeeding resident

Home Forums Family & Parenting breastfeeding resident

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    chylothoraxchylothorax
    Participant

Wondering what you all think about this. I am a third year IM resident with a 7 month old ds who I am still nursing. I don’t really feel like weaning him yet but I’m just so exhausted on every level and I’m wondering whether I’ll feel better if I wean him. Did anyone nurse through residency, and experienced with this?

rydysrydys
    Participant

I breastfed through my second and third years of peds residency. It wasn’t easy and certainly was exhausting, but for me it was worth it. As a pediatrician and a mom, I think that your baby needs a relaxed, happy mother more than anything else. You need to evaulate whether it is really the nursing that is exhausting you or just the residency and demands of a baby. Also, will you feel cheated in the future if you stop now? Keep in mind that breastfeeding is not all or nothing. You could supplement one or 2 bottles and still keep up your supply, just be consistant that it is the same two bottles each day so your body can adjust. There is no right or wrong decision here, just be honest with yourself and find what is right for you.

EM momEM mom
    Participant