Busy mother of 1-y/o needs someone to talk to!

Home Forums Mentoring – Find a Mentor Busy mother of 1-y/o needs someone to talk to!

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    double elledouble elle
    Participant

I am a 3rd year medical student in the midwest. My husband isn’t a stay at home dad. In fact, he has about a 90K/year job….so his helping out is wonderful – but limited. Long-story-short – I am going crazy with trying to figure out what I want to do with my life. I was thinking EM – or the FP route to EM, or maybe psych. I honestly have no idea. I am 29 years old and have 1 child. I am not cut-throat competitive, so I am currently looking at residencies that are more laid back in nature. My husband is an avid outdoors-man, so I am trying to look for places where he will be happy, even though it will only be for a couple of years.

My issue is that I simply can’t turn all this off. I feel so much pressure for my family’s future and so weighed down. I do well on my rotations and receive plenty of compliments and constructive criticism. I try to fit in reading when possible. I try to work out – although it’s been a week now. All I think about is where we will be in 2 years.

Both of my parents have passed away already, and my in-laws live 3 hours away, so we have absolutely no help what-so-ever. I am exhausted and frustrated…both with myself and with this situation. I sometimes wonder why I ever began this endeavor. I feel like I am surrounded by men in the field who have absolutely no insight into what a female goes through. Although I value ANYONE’s opinion – just because a doctor is a father doesn’t mean he goes thru the same thing as a parent as the mom does. And, when I talk to other female students with children – their experiences don’t apply because their husbands stay at home.

I guess I just need someone to help me keep everything in perspective. I feel that I am all alone. Anyone want to help???

wannaBmdwannaBmd
    Participant