can Ob/gyn and a life be compatible?

Home Forums Medical Specialties can Ob/gyn and a life be compatible?

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    macmac
    Participant

Hi! Im a third year medical student who’s very interested in Ob/Gyn. However, I’m married and am concerned about quality of life issues. Unfortunately, sticking to Gyn only is not an option for me since I love Obstetrics but I’m interested in learning more about subspecialties which might allow me to have more control over my hours. I’m very interested in Fetal Maternal medicine and have been told that perinatologists might have a more manegeable workload but I’m not sure if I should believe it. Where can I find out more about the lifestyle within this subspecialty? Also, does anyone know about hospitals that offer more humane Ob/gyn residencies (if such a thing exists!) :boggled: . Thanks a lot!

EricaErica
    Participant

I’d like to know too. I’m about to enter med school in fall 2003, and I have an interest in ob/gyn, but I’d like to know about the lifestyle, cuz I plan on having a family in the future. I don’t not want to see my family. Can the hours be somewhat reasonable? Thanks
    EMW 😉

DONOTDELETE ****DONOTDELETE**
    Participant

I’m also interested in going into OB/GYN. I am really curious as to how exactly it works. Let’s say I have a private practice somewhere. If a patient of mine goes into labor, does a doctor on call at the hospital deliver, or do I come? Is that possible at all? I also want to have a family someday, and I would like to know if these things are possible.

EricaErica
    Participant

bumpity bump

BrezanBrezan
    Participant