Canadian premed

Home Forums Introductions & Connections Canadian premed

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    MarlysMarlys
    Participant

Hi everyone,

I’m a 33-yr. old mom in Toronto, Ontario, staying home with two girls, aged 2.5 and 1. I also teach piano lessons from home, part-time.

I’m planning on applying to med school in 3 years, but am excited about the steps I’m taking now to further confirm this as the way for me. I’m volunteering in a local hospital and taking a physiology course this fall, and have also signed up for a Mini-Med school (6 evenings) offered by U. of Toronto as continuing education to the general public.

Anyone else from Canada?

DO2BDO2B
    Participant

Hi Marlys! I’m not from Canada, but I’m a piano teacher, too. 😀 I started teaching when I was in grad school for clinical social work to supplement child support and loans. I have continued to teach even as I have worked in social work and other jobs and love it! Now, in a couple of weeks I will start med school, at the age of 43, and hope to keep teaching a few students while in school. My children are older now, 15, 18, and 20, so they are much more independent than your little ones, but I still need to be available to them…so, I don’t know if I can relistically “do it all”…but I can at least try.

Good luck with your pre-med preparations. Do you already have a degreee and are just doing premed course, or do you have to do other dgree requirements? If you have any questions or feel the need for support, let me (all of us here)know.

cheers,
    Sue

Med4MomMed4Mom
    Participant

Hi Marlys – another Canadian here. Welcome to the boards. I am 36 and have 3 preschoolers.

MarlysMarlys
    Participant

Hello Sue,