Capitol punishment, Docs,premeds, meds, residents?

Home Forums Debates, Issues & Talk Capitol punishment, Docs,premeds, meds, residents?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 24 total)
  • Author
    PremedRNPremedRN
    Participant

I know this is a common heated issue of debate, but I was curious to know how you all feel about people being put to death for their crimes being as doctors, or potentials doctors are taught to save lives.
    I work in healthcare currently, and I think for the most part I oppose it. Sure it costs money to house these people and feed them, but so does killing them and burying them, and providing social security for the children left behind and in addition to (in some cases) their already support from the government such as welfare/medicaid. So Im not convinced the money issue is a valid argument.
    Sure if some person brutally raped and murdered my daughter, I would probably take his life with my own hands. Yep. Probably would and feel justifiably so about it. But I would be acting irrationally, or maybe even *rational* for the situation, but not necessarily right.
    What is your point of views?

M -AM-A
    Participant

I disagree with capital punishment. Murder is murder, capital punishment is no different. I don’t know how anyone can “flip the switch” so to speak. The desire to get revenge is natural, but what does it accomplish in the end? It certainly wouldn’t bring your loved ones back to life, or change what happened to them. I think especially as medical professionals (or medical professionals to be) who are trained to save lives no matter who the patient is (hippocrates oath) it goes against the ideals and morals that we possess. For a medical professional to assist in capital punishment is even more astounding to me.

Just my :twocents: !

M-A

wannaBmdwannaBmd
    Participant

Just wanted to add my :twocents: