confused, different career after med school?

Home Forums Career confused, different career after med school?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    pumpkinpumpkin
    Participant

I am a medical student currently taking a year out between 2nd and 3rd year for research. I am feeling very confused about my future at this point. I love the study of medicine but I am not very interested in patient care and dealing with the whole healthcare headache. I knew before I applied to medical school that i would never ever be an internist. I figured I would go into radiology or anesthesiology. In college I was deciding between medicine and vet. medicine. I love animals more than anything else. I decided not to apply to vet school because I didnt have enough vet.volunteer/work experience hours in order to apply and I knew as a NY resident i would only go to Cornell where my husband would have nothing to do. I have to admit the low vet salary also pushed me towards human medicine.
    So here I am in medical school. I have been thinking about specialities such as pathology and radiology although I find them somewhat lonely. I like the visual aspect of pathology but dread the idea of doing autopsies. I am a little worried radiology is all machines. I love interacting with other people on a professional level. I think I would enjoy derm and opto a lot because they have some people contact and also i can do surgery type procedures (i love doing things with my hands) but with my step 1 score i dont think i have ever have a chance of matching to the NYC area where my husband works in the financial world. He has suggested that I try business right after medical school in biotech consulting. It seems that I would spend my time thinking and discussing medicine with other intelligent people.