Decisions, Decisions, HELP!

Home Forums Thinking of a Becoming a Doctor Decisions, Decisions, HELP!

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    DONOTDELETE ****DONOTDELETE**
    Participant

Hi all! I am currently a freshman in college and have (at this moment) decided that I want to become a Registered Nurse. But recently I have been comtemplating another career choice. I was wondering if getting my BSN and then becoming a MD made any sense at all. I had this discussion with my aunt who is a Dermatologist in Washington, DC and she said basically that that was a ridiculous idea and that if I wanted to become a doctor then I should do that and skip over all of the nurses training. So, please help, I am now really unsure :confused: about what my future career holds in store and would appreciate any help that I receive. My email address is: saphire_2002@hotmail.com. Thank you!

Rachel

MomMDMomMD
    Participant

I’d have to agree. Why do the nursing training if you want to become a doctor??? I’d try for medical school and focus on that.

Sethina 🙂

Participant

I say study what you want to study. If you have a genuine interest in nursing and want to pursue a degree in nursing, then have at it. If you’re looking for a means to an end, and you want to become an MD, then prepare for medical school the best way you can. For me the choice would depend on whether I’m enjoying the trip along the way or just trying to reach a destination. Either way you can go to medical school in the end if that’s what you want. In the end it doesn’t matter one way or the other what you study as an undergraduate as long as you get those basic requirements met. Good luck!

Divadoc

Participant