does anyone ever get discouraged?

Home Forums Premed Students does anyone ever get discouraged?

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    tammytammy
    Participant

Does anyone ever get discouraged? I find that it is becoming an almost daily issue.
    With a small child (and wanting another one soon), I wonder if I can even afford this
    or if I will be able to devote enough time to my child(ren). Also, I have a bachelor’s degree
    but still have a lot of science courses to take. I really want to be a doctor, but get discouraged
    that after taking all these classes (and acculumating a huge debt) that I won’t get in. I have quit
    telling people that this is what I really want to do because I get so much discouragement.
    I guess, I just need some encouragement from people who understand what I am up against.
    What do you do when you get discouraged? :confused:

OldLadyOldLady
    Participant

I get discouraged when I worry about it too much. I find that if I stick to my guns, I am more apt to get what i need done so I can at least give myself a chance to go and do this. People will always raise doubts, but I have often learned that this is more born out of their own insecurities (ie that they are not brave enough to change if they are unhappy) than judgement on what you’re doing. if you want to do it, then the best way to fight discouragement is to prove everyone wrong and decide that it’s worth it (you’re worth it) if this is what you want to do. Who cares what other people think, it’s your life. your children will understand when they are old enough the sacrifices you have made, and will likely admire you for your accomplishments. Being the child of a physician, I can say i have never doubted my parent’s abilities as a professional. The communication, love and support as a parent is all you need to focus on. Any career would require you to balance that.

lorilori
    Participant