ELECTRONIC MEDICAL RECORD

Home Forums Women Physicians ELECTRONIC MEDICAL RECORD

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    maggie52maggie52
    Participant

LAdies- LIke it or hate it??? Ever tried it?
    We are the new pilot program for the EMR in our locale…I am the guinea pig in two weeks…

rugratdocrugratdoc
    Participant

I love it!

dr . suzdr. suz
    Participant

The VA has a great electronic medical record system – everything, including NOTES, are typed in and available in clinic, on wards. It’s an ideal system. I’m still a resident but as soon as I get out, I can’t imagine setting up a practice without. The problem of course, is HIPPA (which I think actually requires the implementation of a national EMR over the next xx years.

maggie52maggie52
    Participant

what about dragging a laptop into the clinic room with you and typing in front of them?

FPmomof3inSCFPmomof3inSC
    Participant

We just went on Logician 3 weeks ago and have laptops in every room on a rolling cart so we don’t have to put our backs to the patient; I type most of the HPI in front of the patient; click all over the place to update meds, problems, etc. Finish up on a laptop outside the room at my workstation. If I didn’t type some in the room; then I’d never get done. Still, I think it takes away some of the personal touch as I interact with them with a computer between us. I don’t know what the best answer is. Not too keen on logician (see my post in the other EMR topic).

momof3momof3
    Participant