EMT

Home Forums Premed Students EMT

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    undecidedundecided
    Participant

Anyone had experience as an EMT? This is one of my considerations as a part-time job while doing my postbacc to earn enough to pay my bills. Positive and worthwhile experience? Thanks.

Maria_dup2Maria_dup2
    Participant

I am studying EMT – B right now — considering going to paramedic school as part of my post bach.

I should be done in January, I think if you find a good program to attend to you learn a lot – but is seems EMT-B do not really make much money…

So if you are doing this to make a living maybe you will not be making enough…

Just my two cents
    :twocents:

DreyDrey
    Participant

I’m an EMT and I found it was a great way to get clinical experience as an undergrad, even if the pay isn’t spectacular. On the other hand, the pay is certainly well above minimum wage, and if you are in the suburbs, you can take work with you and get quite a bit done at the firehouse or station in between calls.

EMS = Earn Money Sleeping. 😎

In addition, I think that EMTs and Paramedics are generally a great down to earth group of people. You will meet people all along the chain of care, from the first people on the scene up to the ER docs you drop them off with, especially if you work in a suburb or smaller town.

EMS can be stresful, but so can any medical field. You do see some awful stuff, but you can save lives too, and you get to see the results immediately sometimes, which is wonderfully rewarding.

I like it, and I would reccomend the class to anyone.

Audrey

undecidedundecided
    Participant

How much time is usually required after I’ve been certified? I’m not looking to do this full-time, just as a way to gain exposure to the medical world and to earn a bit of spending money at the same time as doing my postbacc and possibly during med school.

boysmomboysmom
    Participant