Ever Consider Nursing?

Home Forums Premed Students Ever Consider Nursing?

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    gonnabeadocgonnabeadoc
    Participant

Hi all!
    In a previous post I noticed that mommd member “glenvally” mentioned that at times she considers nursing and I can also relate to this scenario. Anyone else ever consider nursing out of frustration with your studies, time etc.? What do you do to keep focused on reaching your goal of becoming a physician? I consider nursing almost every month since it will take less time than continuing this course. But I feel as if I am “settling” if I choose nursing. I feel that nursing is a great career choice (have nurses in my family) but I don’t want to choose nursing because of giving up to work towards becoming a doctor. If I was a nurse I would want to be one as my first choice and not as an alternative career. Anyone else feel like I do?

efex101efex101
    Participant

No, I never have or will consider nursing for it is a totally different career path. I think that nursing is a calling in it’s own right and for me to pursue something that is not my calling goes against my “grain” of thought. That said I do know that it does take much less time to pursue nursing than med school and to some both venues are acceptable. Have you shadowed or volunteered with a nurse? maybe if you did (sorry if you have) this could give you some insight into what the nursing career would entail. I know that both nursing and medicine have patient contact but nursing has much more patient contact than I am interested in. I do want patient contact but I also want to find out the pathology, prognosis, diagnosis of disease process so nursing is out in that area.

glennvallyglennvally
    Participant