Family Friendly Medical Schools??

Home Forums Family & Parenting Family Friendly Medical Schools??

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 29 total)
  • Author
    MomMDMomMD
    Participant

Hi,

Is your school family friendly? What stories have you heard? What questions did you ask? How many moms in your class? What does family friendly mean to you?

Anything else you’d like to tell us about your knowledge of family friendly medical schools. Look forward to expanding on the MomMD survey here!!

Sethina

elisemomof3elisemomof3
    Participant

Hi!
    I am currently a student at The Ohio State University College of Medicine and Public health. I am married with three daughters. I was accepted to three schools (3/3! whoohoo)and picked this one because it has the most flexible curriculum of any medical school I have ever seen. There are lots of mommies and daddies at this school. There are 3 learning pathways to choose from:
    1) Integrated pathway, basically the normal lectures/take exams with everyone else schedule that all medical schools have
    2) Problem-based learning Pathway, which is a learning approach based on case studies. Students are divided into groups of 7 and are given case studies. They try to found out all the information related to the patient’s situation in the case study and then they discuss it. The groups are guided by 2 faculty members each.
    3) Independent studies pathway: the subject matter is divided into “modules”. You are given recommendations on when you should take the exams for the modules, as well as “max times” by which you must have taken the exam (barring unusual circumstances). Other than that, you study WHEN you want, and WHERE you want. You can ask the profs questions any time you want. Labs are required for some of the modules. This is my choice. You can also choose to complete the 2 year curriculum in 3 years.