Feeling trapped

Home Forums Women Physicians Feeling trapped

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    beachdocbeachdoc
    Participant

Hello,

What a wonderful service for us. I only wish I had this available to me during my training.

Feels odd to be the first person posting here. I wish I had something more positive to say. This is my first time posting in such as board but I am not sure what else to do.

I am going through a very stressed phase right now. I am an ER physician and I am the primary breadwinner in my family. My husband works part-time (although not much right now) as a computer programmer. I have just become pregnant with my second child (my first is 23 months) and I am feeling trapped that I can not take time off to be with my child for financial reasons. I can have maternity leave but I need a break for a while. We are just making some headway with paying off my loans but there just isn’t enough money for me to stop or even scale back my hours. I have not discussed this with my husband as our relationship too is suffering some strain, he is dealing with his own issues of being a stay at home dad.

What did others in a similar position do? The sad part is I LOVE my job (most of the time) but I want to spend at least the first 1 year at home full-time, then return to some kind of part-time position. My obvious concern to is what will happen to my career. So many questions, any feedback will be appreciated.

glennvallyglennvally
    Participant

Hi Beachdoc,