For those entering med school Fall ’04

Home Forums Premed Students For those entering med school Fall ’04

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    DreyDrey
    Participant

What are you doing with your summer before medical school? I’m graduating in may, and going to med school in august, sot that leaves me 2 1/2 months open. I’m debating between working, and trying to save enough money up to travel somewhere, like backpacking in Europe. I’ve also had some friends talk about hiking the Appalacian trail, but I don’t know how serious they are.

I feel kinda guilty that I don’t want to do anything medical or school related like I have been the last few summers.

What are you guys doing?

LeafLeaf
    Participant

Drey,
    Great question.

I’ve been planning for quite some time to hike the John Muir Trail in CA with my boyfriend next July-August. After I graduated undergrad we hiked the Long Trail (Massachusetts to Canada through Vermont) and absolutely loved it.

Of course this all depends on my job–I told my PI that I’d like to finish in June but of course if we are sitting on a paper I’d stay to get that done. We’ll see.

If you (or your friends) are serious about hiking the AT, normally you’d have to start in March at the southern terminus in Georgia and hike north. Not sure what your job situation is like but it might be difficult to get ~4 months off starting in March. Good luck. 😎

Leaf

DreyDrey
    Participant

Oh I hadn’t planned on hiking all of it, just as much as we could get done, I know it takes far more time than I have, and I’ll probably have to hike it in pieces. Is the Muir trail doable in that amount of time?

DrWuStar *DrWuStar*
    Participant