Has anyone considered becoming a physician’s assistant instead of an MD?

Home Forums Premed Students Has anyone considered becoming a physician’s assistant instead of an MD?

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    rockfeverrockfever
    Participant

I am considering this if i dont’ get in this year. I am just wondering if anyone has ever explored this option. please tell me what you discovered and what you know about the profession.

MeeshMeesh
    Participant

I am a Physician Assistant in emergency medicine. Overall, it has been a great path to take – allowing me to practice medicine at a high level, do procedures, and (most days) make some difference in my patients’ lives. I think the thing I appreciate the most is that I am able to be in a satisfying career but did not have the give up so many years in school (though, in all, I went through 9 years of higher education – still a lot).
    It’s a great career path to consider….
    :twocents:

TexasRoseTexasRose
    Participant

I considered PA this past Fall, and even though I want to stick with the MD, I highly recommend you look into it if you’re interested. The profession has a lot to offer in terms of lifestyle, shorter schooling, and access to practicing medicine.

Two things; One, find a PA to talk to /shadow, and Two, try the PA thread on the SDN forums. There are some very helpful and knowledgeable folks on there. (a grain of salt, some of the members are very “enthusiastic” about defending the profession and get a bit huffy. 😉 ) There is also a website for PA’s, I’ll PM you with it if I can remember the name!
    Good luck!
    Theresa

lorilori
    Participant