Have you ever hosted a foreign exchange student?

Home Forums General Discussion Have you ever hosted a foreign exchange student?

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    AnnaMAnnaM
    Participant

Deprecated: wp_make_content_images_responsive is deprecated since version 5.5.0! Use wp_filter_content_tags() instead. in /home/s267/html/wp-includes/functions.php on line 4777

Has anyone here ever done this? If so, what was your experience?

Baby EinsteinBaby Einstein
    Participant

Deprecated: wp_make_content_images_responsive is deprecated since version 5.5.0! Use wp_filter_content_tags() instead. in /home/s267/html/wp-includes/functions.php on line 4777

I’ve never hosted one, but I was an exchange student. I came to a family in NJ for a month, and then their daughter came to my family in Europe for a month the following summer. That was in 1995, organized by our high schools. We keep in touch, even came to each other’s wedding! It was a great experience for me, but I guess I was lucky (good match).

mamiybbsmamiybbs
    Participant

Hi AnnaM, I did host a foreign exchange student while I was in High School. She was from Russia. She was I think 14yrs and at the time I was a junior. There was a little age difference but she was great! Then I went to Russia for 3wks and stayed with her and it was so much fun. BUt my best friends student was not happy with her. SHe had other culture differences and it was not a good experience for her. I think if you are open minded to other cultures and investigate them you will be fine. I learned Russian (many words) while I was there in such a short time. I also learned a lot about their culture. GOod luck!

fearlessphoenixfearlessphoenix
    Participant

When I was in elementary school we had a student from Brazil for an entire school year. It was awesome and I hope to host now when we get a large enough home of our own so our son can experience the same thing. All good stuff for our family –

AnnaMAnnaM