How do you go to medical school and pay the mortgage?

Home Forums Introductions & Connections How do you go to medical school and pay the mortgage?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    LouiseLouise
    Participant

I am 34 year old wife and mother of two daughters(ages 15 months and 7 years). I’ve always wanted to become a physician, but put my dream aside after having my first child. Presently, I work as a lab technician in a research lab at a medical school. I find myself being envious of the students whenever I see them going to class. I’m so happy to find MOMMD. My question is: How do you go to medical school and still pay the bills? My husband does not make a lot of money. How are you single mothers doing it? Is anyone else out there with a similar situation?

LaramisaLaramisa
    Participant

Hi Louise,
    I’m not in med school yet but I’m a single working mom with a 6 year old, planning to apply next year. I manage on one income and probably also have higher child care and home help costs than a 2 income family, so it can be done if you live within reason. I guess it depends on what things you consider essential and what are extras. I’m so busy that I don’t have much time to spend money going out or buying things. But by the same token, I don’t always have time to look for bargains, so often I end up spending too much for things.

Loans are available (I think up to 38,000 per year) to pay for med school. If you really want to go to med school I think you can find a way. Do you already have the pre-reqs finished?
    LM

LouiseLouise
    Participant

Hi Laramisa,
    Thanks for the advice. Your’e right. If I really want to do this then nothing will stop me.
    I graduated in 1990 with a degree in chemistry. I applied to med school before I had my first child, but I didn’t get in. My GPA was pretty good, but I probably needed to do better on the MCAT. I plan to retake it in April. Have you taken the MCAT yet?

MelissaGrayMelissaGray