How much “worry” is normal??

Home Forums Family & Parenting How much “worry” is normal??

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Med4MomMed4Mom
    Participant

Just wondering if anyone else questions their sanity at times. My children are 5 1/2, 4 and 2 and I find I alternate between days of feeling like I can do anything and my kids are just fine, and days when I just can’t seem to move forward because I am frozen with worry about “what if…”

You know the what ifs…. What if I am busy at medschool and something bad happens to one of my children? Will I ever be able to forgive myself, will I blame my husband for letting it happen? What if I ruin my marriage just because I want to pursue this dream? He is supportive now, but will he feel the same way when I am in residency and he has the strain of holding down the fort all alone for lengths of time? What if I am a terrible doctor and I end up accidently causing someone’s death?

I find my worst moments are late at night when I lie awake and think about all the horrible scenarios that could occur. With the terrible tragedy of the 5 year old in California who was kidnapped and murdered, is it normal for mothers to really feel anxious about something like that happening to their children? We live a continent away, but I can’t get it out of my head. I know mothers always worry to a certain extent, but I don’t know where it becomes abnormal or obsessive…

Sorry for the incoherent ramble, but does anyone else feel this way? 🙁

MomMDMomMD
    Participant

Mimicat,