I am so amazed by all the babies

Home Forums General Discussion I am so amazed by all the babies

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    NatalieNatalie
    Participant

I can’t believe so many of you are pregnant or have been pregnant in med school and residencies! How on earth do you do it? My question is this: if for some awful reason you should end up on bedrest, what would happen to med school or your residency? Do they work with you on something like that?
    I ask because I would *love* to try it, but there is a good chance I would end up in bed. I don’t want to mess up my career at that point…my family needs me not to do that!
    Just really curious…
    Natalie

GracieThreeGracieThree
    Participant

I was put on “modified” bed rest on Feb 1 when I was pregnant and my daughter was due Feb 27th. I was a second year IM resident. My OB said I had to lie on my left side for two hours in the morning, three hours in the afternoon and get ten hours of sleep a night. I think he pulled this out of his a**, but I did what he said. On Feb 12 (my birthday) I went in for another check up and said “We have to get this over with, I can’t spend my whole maternity leave before the baby is born!” so my birthday gift was an appointment with the admitting desk for 0600 the next morning. It’s not really PC to induce for non-medical reasons but I appreciate that he did it anyway. I got five weeks after she was born then went back forty hours a week with no call for five weeks then on to wards (80 hours a week with q 3 night call). It can be done. Then made up the non-vacation portion of my leave at the end of my residency, which was four weeks, so I finished four weeks later but I still sat for boards on time.

Life is what happens while you’re busy making other plans. Don’t miss it.

NatalieNatalie
    Participant