I’m an older med school hopeful …

Home Forums Introductions & Connections I’m an older med school hopeful …

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    NickiNicki
    Participant

I’m now 34, married, and a professional musician. I have a pre-med degree from 13 years ago and am currently studying for the MCAT. I just received my 13 year old transcript in the mail and realized that my science course grades are not stellar. I did a double degree in music at the same time as I did my bio degree. While there are some As and A- in there, there are a couple of C’s and many Bs. All together with my music degree, I managed a total GPA of 3.5. Do Med schools only look at science GPA?? Or should I plan on repeating some courses? Anybody’s input welcome!!! Thanks!
    Nicki

MaryBBMaryBB
    Participant

Nikki,

Hi! A 3.5 is respectable, yet the adcoms will take a closer look at those science grades.

However, there’s a different problem here: many of the schools have time limits of how old the pre-meds can be. Usually it’s 5, 7 or 10 years. It’s arbitrary and varies among schools, so call the admissions depts. of the schools that you’re interested in attending and ask them. You might need to retake the bio, chem, o-chem and physics to show “fresh” science grades. Good luck! — Mary

NickiNicki
    Participant

Thank you so much for your reply, Mary! I am aware that some schools do have limits on coursework, but the majority only seem to have a limit on the MCAT, not the premed courses. I will definitely double check though.

(I’ve just calculated my GPA of science courses only and it wasn’t as bad as I thought – 3.2.)