Introducing myself!

Home Forums Introductions & Connections Introducing myself!

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    NickiNicki
    Participant

Hello everyone,

I just discovered this site two days ago and was so relieved to realize that I am not completely insane for contemplating med school at this stage of my life. Or at least, I’m not alone in my insanity!

I’m 34, currently a professional musician working in Spain with my husband, also a musician. When I was in college I got a Double Degree in Biology and Music (a BA and a BM). I had thought I’d go to med school, but at the time I felt totally unprepared to handle the incredible demands med school puts on one. I also decided I had to do music. So here I am.

My husband and I have gone through the fairly traumatic experience of nearly three years of infertility. We feel like our lives have been on hold this whole time, and now we’ve reached a point where we feel like it’s time to get on with the rest of our lives. It’s a real crossroads for us. We want to come home, and we want something more meaningful from our existence.

I am not sure if med school is the correct choice for me. The long hours M-F of med school, followed by endless nights of studying, followed by, etc. etc. etc. while very appealing in a weird sort of way, are also very daunting. My husband and I have a very good, stable, loving relationship, but we fear what effect med school might have on our closeness. How on earth will I tolerate being up for 36 hours straight during residencies? What if by some miracle we do get pregnant while I’m in med school? Will I be a good doctor? Will I be a good Mom? Why do I really want to be a doctor? So many questions, so little time.

Well, that’s why I’m here. I can’t wait to continue reading everyone else’s entries, because they are really helping me and in many cases inspiring me beyond belief.

Best wishes to all,
    Nicki

LaramisaLaramisa
    Participant

Hi Nicki-