Introducing myself

Home Forums Introductions & Connections Introducing myself

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

Hello Everyone,
    I too just found this website yesterday and I love it. I didn’t introduce myself before but I posted something in the general forum section. Hopefully you can take a chance to read it and help me or give some advice.

I graduated from college in 1999 with a B.A. in Biology. I too had some circumstances that didn’t help my grades. After graduation I decided to enroll in a post-bacc. program. But that didn’t help me. So now I currently work in a cancer research lab. I have been here for almost 2 years and I know this is not what I want to do for the rest of my life.

I have always wanted to be a physician and now I am really depressed and have become really discouraged. I have decided to pursue nursing because I honestly believe that I don’t have what it takes to get into med school. What should I do??

Confused
    :confused:

psychpsych
    Participant

Someone else has already suggested (on a different thread) getting advice from a med school admissions director or premed advisor, which seems like the most direct option. If they tell you it’s unlikely you can get in based on your grades, you might want to consider physician assistant school. One of my friends who is very smart but not a great tester ended up going this route and is now having a BALL as a PA. It’s much faster training than med school, no residency, and you dive right in to jobs paying $80K or more. You can usually write prescriptions independently (working in a practice with physicians who are your official supervisors)and do almost the same things as physicians, but maybe not as complicated or specialized cases. Although even that seems variable — some PAs seem extremely specialized. So don’t give up on a dream in medicine. If it’s not medical school, there are lots of other options if you want to take care of patients.

TexasRoseTexasRose