Is this a good plan?

Home Forums Thinking of a Becoming a Doctor Is this a good plan?

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    kjharriskjharris
    Participant

Hi everyone. This is my first MomMD post. I am 28 years old and I currently work in the investment industry. When I was in college majoring in business, I THOUGHT this was what I wanted to do with my life, but now I feel so disillusioned with the whole financial industry. I feel like my job has no impact on the world at all. Lately I’ve been seriously considering a career in medicine, but since I’m a business major with no medical experience I would have to start over from the beginning. This is the plan I’m proposing to myself. I would appreciate any feedback or ideas…

1. Volunteer at a local hospital for a year or two to get clinical experience. This will also give me a little time to pay off some debt that I incurred during my irresponsible early 20’s. LOL.

2. Enroll in a post-bac premed program at a local state university. If possible I would like to do this part time so I can still keep my job and save some money.

3. Study for the MCAT like a maniac and pass!

4. Apply and get accepted to a state medical school. Quit my full time job and take out loans to support myself while in med school.

5. Endure many years of grueling work and sacrifice.

6. Become a doctor!

Can I do this?!

Thanks for your help!

Kim

maggie52maggie52
    Participant

All of those sound good!

DreyDrey
    Participant

Such a nice, tidy “TO DO” list. 😀

I think everyone on these message boards is a little bit crazy and a whole lot biased about what you should do with your life, but I switched majors from business to get into the medical field, and I’m glad I did!

Come on, you know you want to be a doctor, all the cool kids are doing it!! 😉

Best of Luck

Audrey

kjharriskjharris
    Participant