Knowing too much and too little

Home Forums Residents Knowing too much and too little

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    rydysrydys
    Participant

I’m wondering if anyone out there feels like they know too much and too little when it comes to taking care of their family members. I’m a peds resident and I’m finding this a problem when my kids get sick. I often feel like I should be able to make a diagnosis and decide what to do–after all, my patients call me and I’m confident enough to give them answers. On the other hand, I’m a mommy and I can’t be objective about when to take my kids to the ER, etc. This came to a head for me last Saturday when my son broke his arm. The mechanism wasn’t great (he fell on some linoleum while running)and he didn’t seem to be in any pain, but he wouldn’t use his arm. Anyone else, I would have sent right away for x-ray, but I kept pushing it off and didn’t take him until much later! Fortunately the fracture wasn’t displaced and he was casted without incident, but now I’m left with the guilt of having made him wait so long. I’ve had similar issues in the past with my younger son who wheezes, deciding when to call the doctor, when to go to the ER, etc. Any advice?

GracieThreeGracieThree
    Participant