maiden name/ professional name

Home Forums Women Physicians maiden name/ professional name

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    betsybetsy
    Participant

Hi everyone. This is my first time as a logged on member. I am a new physician, and married a couple of years ago. I would like to keep my maiden name professionally, but would like my husbands name personally (without hyphens). Has anyone done this legally? Every organization or board that I talk to has a different opinion. I would hate to jeopardize my license by doing it the wrong way. Any suggestions.

momof3momof3
    Participant

I can tell you that I took my husband’s name when we got married and because my med school diploma is under my maiden name that there is confusion. It has never caused any major problems but it can make applying for hospital privileges, etc. more challenging. I think sticking with one last name will be much easier in the long run for you. Trying to seperate your “professional last name” from your “personal last name” will lead to much misunderstandings. :boggled:

maggie52maggie52
    Participant

How about use your maiden name on everything legal/medical/financila etc., and in your private life just let people call you Mrs. _____ ( his name)…that’s what I let happen…

DONOTDELETE ****DONOTDELETE**
    Participant