mdtobe at myage

Home Forums General Discussion mdtobe at myage

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    grandmommdgrandmommd
    Participant

High Girls!

I am so glad to have someone female to talk to.
    After choosing to sucessfully raise a family, :wave: I am in a position to be what I wanted to be when I grew up. I do not regrett investing my time in my children.

I am presently a full time student/junior at Penn State. The catch is that I am presently 53yrs old. I feel I have plenty of good years ahead and I want to practice medicine during those years. I have thought long and hard about this and gave up my “day time job”. I was making $50,000 a year,(not bad for a single mom without a degree).

I need your support and encouragement as well as the “facts”.

Until Later,
    Virginia

momofchrismomofchris
    Participant

Congratulations- I think that’s great! And guess what? You aren’t alone. Check out this article from the Nashville Banner:
    http://www.tennessean.com/sii/00/10/08/doclady08.shtml
    Now for the reality check: like the grandma in that article, you’ll likely have a tough time getting accepted to a U.S. school. However, it never hurts to try. Also, D.O. schools are more receptive to older students than most traditional M.D. schools, so definitely apply to those as well. And if all else fails, it sounds like the Caribbean doesn’t discriminate against older applicants, so I’d encourage you to research that option as well.

lillianlillian
    Participant

All right!

Happy to hear from you and WELCOME!!!

grandmommdgrandmommd
    Participant

Thanks for your encouragement. I know the “system” is not age friendly. If I do well with the MCATs and I finish well at Penn State, I will seek my options.

I whitewater,kyack I perform interpretive dance at my church, I love to be active. I do not meet the 50’s profile. I work hard at not allowing myself to “settle”.