Med school motivation

Home Forums Medical Students Med school motivation

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    MelissaGrayMelissaGray
    Participant

I was wondering how many of you had some sort of event (or events) that pushed you along in your decision to go to med school…especially those of you who haven’t always wanted to be a physician.

For me, my grandfather was very ill when I was in college and his physician was nearly incompetent. I was so angry that I nearly changed to premed midway through college (I was already a Bio major, so it wouldn’t have been too different…but I had not even considered premed before). At the time, I decided that I was considering med school for the wrong reasons (mainly anger) so I didn’t go for it.

Once I was a teacher, I had some students with significant health issues. In dealing with them I decided that I really liked medicine and took steps to complete my prereqs.

What about everyone else?

ReneeRenee
    Participant

The birth of my second child did it for me.

I had never considered being a doctor before. My exposure to medicine when I was young and deciding what I wanted to do w/ my life was almost non-existent…a good thing I’m sure.

Because it was so out of the blue, it took me close to six months before I even recognized the desire for what it was and another six months for me to believe it made any kind of sense to be considering this path at this stage of my life. I was 35 then and almost 38 now.

I started off slow and then had a bit of a delay w/ #3 came along, but am back on track now to take the MCAT in April ’03.

desert scholardesert scholar
    Participant