Men only group practices.

Home Forums Women Physicians Men only group practices.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    busymombusymom
    Participant

Hello all! I have been a lurker for some time now. I have been nervous about posting for fear that someone may recognize me. So, some facts about me may be changed (I am sure I am not the only one doing this!). Anyways, I am a resident that is soon to graduate. I have interviewed with a few men only group practices. Is it just me or is there something that is uncomfortable about being a much younger female working with men old enough to be your father? Am I being paranoid to think that I am going to get screwed, both in work load and financially? I have been seriously considering going into solo practice with hospital assistance. Any advice? Am I crazy to want to go solo at the beginning of my career? Do you think that it is pathologic that I am feeling uncomfortable with working with men that are much older than myself? I am so confused. Any advice would be appreciated. p.s. I am glad that I already finished my family. I would be so scared to ask for leave while in private practice.

mommidalamommidala
    Participant

I would say, “trust your feelings!” There are lots of all-men practices that have no clue about what to expect from a woman. If you are as tough as them, you are “butch” and if you have any problems, you are weak. They may also expect you to make less, and do more scut because you are the only girl. However, the benefit of group practice is that you don’t have to be on call 365-24-7.

maggie52maggie52
    Participant

BUSYMOM: Gee, I thought all of us were joining all male practices! Just kidding, there is one female in the group I just joined, but she’s part time and I never see her…
    I don’t think it is ANY all-male practice, it’s just some that would be scary- and those you could view as a challenge.
    YOU can break their little mold they have created!