Mommy in need of advice!

Home Forums Family & Parenting Mommy in need of advice!

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    janetjanet
    Participant

I am a third year pre-med student and scared out of my mind! I have four children ages 6,4,3,and 1. My husband and I are seperating so I am going to be doing this on my own. 😮 I am just wondering if there is anyone else out there who has gone to medical school under similar circumstances. I am afraid of missing out on my kids childhood. I don’t want to get into med school and learn it is next to impossible to finish. I feel like I am being selfish and might end up sacraficing my childrens happiness to achieve my goals. I would really appreciate some advice and encouragement. 😀

MelissaGrayMelissaGray
    Participant

Do you have any family nearby?

I know a second year who’s family is about an hour from where she is going to med school. Her 4 kids live there with her parents and she lives near the med school. She spends weekends and breaks with them. She tried commuting to med school, but that didn’t work well.

Its not perfect, but also not a horrible option.

CaLiGirL :)CaLiGirL:)
    Participant

janet,

i agree with melissagray. family can be so supportive and provide lots of help and love. it would be a great deal easier for you if you had family close by. the key word here is *help*, help, and more help. there is no saying that it cannot be done, because with the will and strength and determination, it can!

you may also want to research medical schools that you may be interested in applying to and see if they have childcare programs on-campus or close by. for instance, the universtiy in which i attend has several programs and even an elementary school on campus! those kinds of factors can also be of great help…the only thing is it costs money, and if you have it or can get it by financial aide, go for it!