Mother-MDs – International, Welcome!

Home Forums General Discussion Mother-MDs – International, Welcome!

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    AnkiAnki
    Participant

Hello Mom-MDs, from all over the world! 🙂

I thought it would be great to start a topic where we non-American mother-doctors could share our stories and experiences.
    I also hope to find here advice from the “natives” 🙂 on American parenting and study/work issues…

My own story of becoming a mom – while being an almost-MD – started during a surgery rotation. I was a visiting student in Texas where my husband had been working as a researcher of biomedical sciences. When I arrived to the U.S. we decided we wouldn’t do anything against a baby if she wanted to come 😉
    It was not the perfect time for a baby, but who knows if a perfect time would ever come (before I’m 80)? And for some reason I had the feeling that it would be very difficult for me to get pregnant – the last thing I could imagine was to conceive during a clinical clerkship when I was getting up at 4 am each morning, running all the day, not eating and sleeping enough, and being almost never together with my husband! :tired: So I completely forgot about the baby-question for a while. But… Some weeks later we were on a trip at the Grand Canyon with friends. We were supposed to return to Texas on September 11 – on that tragical day all flights were canceled, including ours. We decided to drive all the way back with our rental car. We were traveling long distances on rough roads, so no one (not even I) wondered when I started to become more and more nauseated. But few days later, when I again complained to my husband that “I feel sick but I’m also hungry” he decided that these symptoms were not typical of a food-poisoning or digestion problem… :confused: He stopped at a store to buy me a pregnancy test… positive! 😀