not telling people you’re a doctor

Home Forums Debates, Issues & Talk not telling people you’re a doctor

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    kthoms0319kthoms0319
    Participant

It drives my husband crazy that I don’t rush to tell people I’m a doctor. But, I hate that feeling you get from some people that you’re “different” from them. So different you couldn’t have anything in common.

I really notice it from other moms who seem to think having this demanding career means you don’t love your kids. I work part-time and spend as much time with my kids as possible, but most of the SAHM’s I meet look at me like I’m a freak.

I’m getting better (at my husband’s urging), at coming out with “I’m a doctor” early in the conversation, but since it’s such a small portion of who I am, I hate to have it be the biggest part of the conversation.

Anyone else out there feel that way? :confused:

TexasRoseTexasRose
    Participant

I’m not in your specific situation yet, but I can identify with your feelings. Just telling people that I am going to start med school this year has a way of putting people off. I never just come out and announce it, but I don’t want to hide it either.

So then, I’m a mom of 3, I get all kinds of comments. Some mild, like, “oh, you must be so dedicated/smart/ambitious” to “well I guess you’ll be too good to talk to us pretty soon!” And of course the, “but what about your kids???”

It’s not fun to be set aside like that. I think the more matter-of-fact I am about it and the quicker I move on to another topic, the less isolating it is.

I’m sure more women with your exact experience will have something to say about it too!

BTW, all working women get that attitude from some SAHMs. :rolleyes:

MTaylorMTaylor
    Participant

Ditto.