ob/gyn wannabe

Home Forums Introductions & Connections ob/gyn wannabe

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    chasityjochasityjo
    Participant

Hey my name is Chasity and I am a pre-med student. I am a mom of a 15 month old child and 22.i have never felt this kind of desire to accomplish something like I do with being a doctor.Since I have told my family about my desire I have gotten several different reactions. The most common one has been laughter. It is kind of hurtful but I can’t help but to keep that driving me. I need alot of guidence and alot of advice, so if anyone would like to share I would love to know. I must say that this web-site has been such an inspiration. thank you

TexasRoseTexasRose
    Participant

Welcome, Chasity! 😀

I hope you’ll find lots of good info here. Many of us are “nontraditional” students and there’s great info in the forums.

(I think I wore myself out replying to “shattered dream” so check out her replies to see my (touchy) take on other people’s negative attitudes.)

Theresa

ClaireClaire
    Participant

My post is a little late, but I wanted to welcome you anyway.

I’m a 1st yr med student straight out of school, and I don’t have any children, but I think I identify with you a little on the laughter issue.

When I was in my earlier years of high school my grades were not as good as they could have been. Even though I had always wanted to be a doctor, I did not want to admit it to anyone because I was afraid of getting that response. And at first I did- that, and the awkward silence where they go “Umm… okay… You’re aiming high aren’t you!”. However as my grades improved significantly those responses occurred less and less often, as gradually people accepted that I was motivated to succeed.

I just wanted to tell you, don’t ever let yourself be discouraged by other people’s opinions of what you can and can’t do.