obnoxious jerk!

Home Forums Residents obnoxious jerk!

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    kgw55kgw55
    Participant

I’m a first year pediatric resident and am having a miserable time of things. The chief resident is an absolute $%%hole. I have to say I actually HATE him. He’s an arrogant, conceited pig. Last week he crossed the line when he mentioned I might consider joining a gym as I am rather sturdy looking like a shot-put player (he asked me if I did this in college), or something similar. I’m 5 foot 2 and, yes at 150, pounds could probably lose a few, that hurt me but it was said in a joke in front of others so I had to laugh. He also happens to be quite attractive (not as much as he thinks) and his favorite activity is to arrive fresh from mountain biking wearing his bike shorts, hair gelled back and “hello everyone, I have ARRIVED, ladies watch out” – he doesn’t actually say this. He’s a smooth talker, the nurses love him and he IS a good doctor. I’m married and he doesn’t play his flirtatious games with me. At the very least his learning technique seems to be humiliation and ridicule, I’m never good enough, know enough or fast enough to live up to his high expectations. I’ve been close to tears in front of him MANY times, I go to the bathroom and cry sometimes. I’ve survived medical school and got this far how can one person be upsetting me so much. If I didn’t love what I do I would have quit by now.

What are my options? I wonder how he would react if I did cry in front of him. In less than 24 hours I have the pleasure of his company again.

from
    Upset and frustrated…

I just read through this and it actually made me laugh 😉 so perhaps I can see the humor in it but really I feel 😡 – I like these characters!

TexasRoseTexasRose
    Participant

i don’t have any answers for you, but lots of sympathy!!!! Try to hang in there and don’t let him see you cry, he’s probably trying to find out if he CAN make you cry.