Older premed/mom with 2 kids needs mentor

Home Forums Mentoring – Find a Mentor Older premed/mom with 2 kids needs mentor

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    DO HopefulDO Hopeful
    Participant

Hi,

I’m new to MomMD, and I’m happy to have found a website that seems to have so much helpful information. After being unfulfilled in the Navy for 10 years, and after staying at home with my kids for 2 years, I have finally realized that I want to be a doctor. I came to this realization almost 2 months ago, but since then I’ve been going back and forth about how this long process will affect my family. My kids are young, and at times I feel guilty about wanting to pursue this dream of mine. But I still have this yearning inside to go for it and figure things out as we go along. Balancing school and family life, and then later work and family life, worries me a little. I also worry about being in my mid-30’s and deciding to go back to school for such a long time. For this part, I think I’m mainly worried about what other people think, but deep down inside, I still want to do it even though people think I’m crazy. Remarkably my husband is very supportive. But I’d like to find a mentor who has had similar experiences or one who has insight into what I’m going through.

boysmomboysmom
    Participant

Hi DO Hopeful,

Not sure about the mentor thing, but I am on the same path in a similar position. You are in good company here (also check out http://www.oldpremeds.org )

I am 37, four kids, been home with them for about 12 years. Now starting the prereqs needed for med school. I plan to go the DO route, and I am sure you can find lots of discussion on that topic here.

Do I feel like I am nuts? Absolutely. Do I feel a bit driven (my gp generously called this obsession a “calling”). Yes. I also have a very supportive husband, I know for me this career choice would be impossible without his backing.