post-bac pre-med programs

Home Forums Premed Students post-bac pre-med programs

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    PriyaPriya
    Participant

Hello,

This is my first time here as I just joined today. I posted this question in the general discussion, but I am wondering if you all can reccommend any good post-bac programs? I am currently a senior at DePaul (in Chicago), and I am studying early childhood education. Any suggestions will definitely be appreciated. Thanks a lot.

~Priya

lorilori
    Participant

Welcome! If you are planning on doing post-bacc work, my only real piece of advice is that you do it with a four year college or university. For some reason, all of the med schools I have applied to told me they frown on Community Colleges and two year universities. I found this out when I needed an English Lit class as one of the pre-reqs and I called the schools to see if it was ok to take it at a community college (to save some money). They all said the same thing. Although it is ok to take it at a CC, it will be looked at differently than if you took it at a four year private school. All post-bacc programs I believe are the same. You don’t need a specific degree to get into med school, only certain pre-reqs. These include one year each of English, Biology, General Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, Physics, and Math. You also need to take all appropriate labs. My only other piece of advice is that if you have both the time and extra money, a Physiology class and a Biochemistry class will really benefit you when it comes to taking the MCAT. Best of luck to you in your endeavors. God Bless!

spacecadetspacecadet
    Participant

Priya,

Are you talking about a formal premed post-bacc, or just taking classes after you finish your degree?