Post Bacculareate programs to increase GPA

Home Forums Premed Students Post Bacculareate programs to increase GPA

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    adewaltadewalt
    Participant

I graduated from undergrad 13 years ago. I would like to apply to medical school. My degree is in Biology but I would like to increase my gpa and have considered possibly an MBA in Healthcare to increase my gpa instead of taking more of the same science courses. I have also been looking into Post Baccalaureate programs

Any suggestions?

efex101efex101
    Participant

You may want to check with individual schools, some will want the pre-reqs to be more recent than 13 years. If that is the case than a post-bacc (either self made or formal) will be your best bet.

spacecadetspacecadet
    Participant

adewalt,

I notice that you are from Texas – so am I. You might want to check into the “fresh start” program. Call TMDSAS and ask about it. However, if your degree is 13 years old, it may mean retaking all of your prereqs.

None of the Texas schools (or Baylor) that I talked to had a limit on how old classes can be. Some of mine were 13 years old.

I don’t know a whole lot about formal post-bacc programs. It seems like they would be a good way to boost your GPA quick. It’s hard to say whether a post-bacc or a Master’s is better. I know that some schools have a GPA/MCAT cutoff and I don’t think a master’s is factored into that. But, I have heard that you can appeal this kind of pre-interview rejection and ask them to take a closer look at your file.

Can you provide more info about your GPA? How bad is it? Have you taken science classes recently?

Pam

adewaltadewalt
    Participant

Originally posted by efex101:
    You may want to check with individual schools, some will want the pre-reqs to be more recent than 13 years. If that is the case than a post-bacc (either self made or formal) will be your best bet.

Thanks I will look into it.

Alana

adewaltadewalt