pregnant during interviews?

Home Forums Career pregnant during interviews?

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    juljul
    Participant

Anyone out there who was visibly pregnant during their residency interviews? I’m a third year student who is thinking about trying to get pregnant in the next few months and I’m concerned about what would happen during interviews next year. I’m thinking now that I want to go into ob/gyn and so I want a program that is family friendly but I’m not sure if being pregnant during the interview is really the best test. (I fear having to scramble). I’ve heard 4th year is a good time to have a baby (I’ve also heard there really is no truly good time in medicine) and I feel like I’ve already been waiting for a long time (I’ve had the baby craving for a few years now). My husband wants me to think about taking a year off, only because he thinks I will regret not being there very much during the first year, but I kind of just want to get residency over with before a baby can remember that I wasn’t there! Most of my friends and family think I’m crazy to think about starting residency with an infant and think I should wait until the last year of residency or after, but I really don’t want to wait that long. I just really don’t know what to do. Any advice is appreciated. And if this has already been discussed somewhere else, please point me in the right direction!

TaurusTaurus
    Participant

Hello,