premed at 41??

Home Forums Introductions & Connections premed at 41??

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    bzy1bzy1
    Participant

Hi everyone! Great website! :wave:

Anyone else beginning the “premed stage” at age 41? 😀

I have an undergraduate degree in Psychology. Unfortunately, I lack the necessary science background in order to apply to med school at this time. So I’m starting from square one. I’m planning to take some courses via distance education, and then enroll in spring/summer session at the local university for the remainder of the science courses.

I have a question…how many years of study + residency are required before one can begin private practice? From what I’ve read, it’s 4 years for the MD degree + 2 yrs for residency in family medicine before one can set up private practice. Is this info correct?

I’d also like to know the experiences of other women who are either thinking about med school/or beginning premed at age 40+.

Oh, by the way, I’m in Canada and will be applying to Canadian med schools. Does anyone know if there is a difference between med school/residency in USA/Canada? ie, is one more demanding than the other,etc?

TexasRoseTexasRose
    Participant

Hi bzy1 and welcome!

You are not alone in beginning your journey a bit later than usual. 😉 I’m a nontraditional student myself, and there are many others on our forums.

I believe there may be a Canadian thread on one of the forums as well, try the forum search button of you don’t see it.

I can’t answer for the Canadian schools, but med school in the States is 4 years and family practice residency is about 3 years.

Good Luck!
    Theresa

PS- oldpremeds.net may be a great resource for you, as well.

bzy1bzy1
    Participant

Hi Theresa 🙂 Thanks for the information. I finally had time to read more of the posts on this site. Now I don’t feel so alone in my choice to embark upon this “med journey” later in life 🙂