preparing (?) for match day

Home Forums Medical Students preparing (?) for match day

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    kerrykerry
    Participant

Hi y’all-

I’m now a 4th year med student facing the great unknown of match day. Part of me is looking foward to the excitement of residency applications, interviews, and starting at a new place. The more vocal “control” part of me dreads the unknown. any suggestions for how to screen programs for family-friendliness, if there is such a thing in residency?

EemaMDEemaMD
    Participant

Kerry,
    I’m still trying to decide on a specialty!!! Love OB/Gyn, but everyone is trying to talk me out of it, and I have to really wonder if one can make a living doing OB anymore. I also love peds but I think I would hate being in clinic all day, every day, etc.
    Everyone brings up the “lifestyle” question, but if the new rules by AGME are really reinforced next July, we will have to have much less malignant residencies.
    What are you going into? And have you started the dreaded personal statement yet?

kerrykerry
    Participant

Hi Eema-

Yup, after a surprising inner debate, I’ve decided…child & adolescent psychiatry. I never thought I would be interested in psych and always figured that I would do ped’s. Alas, that neuroscience is just too fascinating. Also, I’ve come to the conclusion that it’s more fun to talk and play with the kids when they aren’t worried about you poking them with a needle;)…besides, it’s tough to beat the lifestyle.

As for OB vs peds, choose what you enjoy the most. I made my final decision during my family practice rotation. I had the chance to see everything from prenatal to birth to elderly. Although it was all interesting, I found myself happiest when it was a family and kid on the other side of the door with a psych problem. What did you get the most satisfaction or happiness out of?

kerrykerry
    Participant