Questions about when things happen

Home Forums Premed Students Questions about when things happen

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    NathalieNathalie
    Participant

I have a few questions that I would like to have cleared up ,if you don’t mind 🙂

I have my bachelor’s degree already, but I have been back in school trying to finish getting all the prerequisites for med school. Right now it looks like I am on pace to finish with the by the end of the Spring semester 2005. (We are on Plan Q or R now having moved on from Plan B a long time ago…life keeps happening!)

If I take the MCAT in April 2005 and I have finished all of my course work by May 2005…when am I looking at actually attending medical school? I know the application process takes roughly a year so am I looking at going in in the fall of 2006? Is it possible to go Fall 2005?

What all do you know about this? Are there schools that start at other times besides the traditional fall/spring school year?

Also, the lists I keep seeing say that the prereq’s are:

Chem I&II
    Bio I&II
    Org. Chem I&II
    Physics I & II
    Math thru Calculus
    and two more classes of upper level Bio like Micro and A&P or something.

Am I leaving something out???

Please set me straight.

Natalie

MarilynMarilyn
    Participant

Every school is different in what the pre-req’s are so make *sure* you check with the schools you are interested in applying to.

Here are the pre reqs at the school(s) I am interested in:

English- 3 semesters
    Biology- 2 semesters
    Physics- 2 semesters
    Gen Chem- 2 semesters
    Organic Chem- 2 semesters
    And 2-4 classes in (I’m sure they would like to see 4 rather than 2):
    Biochem, Anatomy, Micro, Histology, Embryology, Cell Bio, Comp Anatomy, Genetics, Physiology

No Calculus required (thank god…lol)

Marilyn

efex101efex101
    Participant