questions for the already docs out there

Home Forums Ask the Physician questions for the already docs out there

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    innosenzinnosenz
    Participant

hey ladies, i’m new to this and i had a couple questions… first off, any regrets? like would you do it again? and second, i’m a 22 year old, just finished undergrad in biochem. i’m married and living in germany with my husband who’s a surgeon in the air force and i want to go to med school. i was wondering if you guys who have done it think it’s a better idea to wait or to go now? esp since we’re considering having kids kinda soon… thanks for all the help 🙂

vlcmdvlcmd
    Participant

It can be tough to know now what you will want to be doing 8 years from now. Consider the investment of time (including lost earnings) and money and then try to figure out what your ROI will be like just like you would for any other investment. In other words what kind of return will you get on your investment? What if your priorities change and you decide that raising your own children well takes precedence over saving the world/healing others? What might happen to your investment then and how would you and your husband handle that? These are some questions to consider. Hope I was helpful.

GracieThreeGracieThree
    Participant

Get a cup of tea, this is a long one…

As to the having kids question… it’s going to be tough no matter when you have them, but I would (based on my experience) wait until you are at least done with internship. I had my daughter second year of a three year residency. It was tough, but she was worth it! I hate sending her to daycare sometimes, but she gets so much out of it and loves it so much, I would still let her go half-days were I a stay at home mom (she’s in a wonderful Montessori school.) Anyhow, no one can tell you when the best time for you to have children is. Follow your heart. There’s no “perfect” time.